Stop Dow's Agent Orange Seeds!

Dow Chemical wants to introduce its latest generation of genetically-modified (GM) seeds, which will be bred for resistance to the herbicide 2,4-D. That’s right, the next wave of seeds will be resistant to one of the primary components of Agent Orange, used in the Vietnam War as a chemical defoliant. Planting these seeds means the use of 2,4-D as a weed killer will increase drastically, an estimated 30-fold increase according to the Center for Food Safety. Not only is the chemical drift-prone and extremely toxic for farmers, it is also known to be a hormone disrupter, linked to birth defects, cell damage and lymphoma.

Why would farmers even be interested in 2,4-D seeds? The reason is that the previous generation of GM seeds--developed to tolerate Monsanto’s Roundup herbicide--have led to the growth of Roundup-resistant weeds. This epidemic of “superweeds” has alarmed farmers and scientists, triggering even more herbicide applications and the desire to use older, even more toxic chemicals, like 2,4-D.

But that’s not the solution--that’s just staying on an ever faster treadmill of chemical and agribusiness dependence. Monsanto assured us that resistant weeds would never spring up from using Roundup Ready seeds. Why would 2,4-D seeds be a better solution?

Voice your opinion by 4/27: tell the USDA we’ve had enough of herbicide-resistant seeds and short-sighted solutions.

We urge the USDA not to approve Dow Chemical's application for genetically-modified corn designed to tolerate spraying of herbicide 2,4-D (Docket No. APHIS–2010–0103). The use of these seeds will lead to ever increasing use of a toxic herbicide, which has strong links to cancer, hormone disruptions and birth defects. The USDA has failed to conduct a meaningful and holistic review of the herbicide's effects on ecosystems, farmers and consumers. Protect our environment and say no to the unwarranted use of this toxic chemical.

Sincerely,

The FRESH Community, undersigned
Optional Member Code


This petition has a goal of 10000 signatures
1-25 of 4919 signatures
Number Date Name Location Submit your comments on ...
4919 Fri Dec 19 01:56:28 EST 2014 Anonymous WA
4918 Sat Dec 06 10:23:35 EST 2014 Janet Shock Defiance, OH
4917 Sat Nov 22 11:07:58 EST 2014 Rick M AB Yes as this community member said "Vote with your dollar, be an agent of change"
No Monsanto no crap!
Period!!
4916 Tue Nov 04 13:47:02 EST 2014 Alison Rich Beacon, NY 202 -->201Stop, just stop. Everyone watch "Fresh" and change your lives accordingly.
Ban Monsanto, Dow, DuPont, all the terrible giants doing so much harm.
Be an agent of change! Vote with your dollar!
4915 Sun Nov 02 17:56:18 EST 2014 Anonymous Painesville, OH
4914 Sun Oct 19 17:28:25 EDT 2014 Anonymous Kingston, MA
4913 Sat Oct 18 19:56:21 EDT 2014 Jennifer Seals Jacksboro, TN
4912 Thu Oct 02 20:23:14 EDT 2014 Stephen meitzler
4911 Mon Aug 11 17:44:32 EDT 2014 Caol Leu Kalispell , MT
4910 Mon Jul 28 08:34:12 EDT 2014 Anonymous Eustis, FL
4909 Sun Jul 27 10:20:22 EDT 2014 Erin Armstrong Bethlehem , PA
4908 Tue Jul 15 19:07:29 EDT 2014 Anonymous Spokane, WA
4907 Sun Jun 15 21:35:49 EDT 2014 Amy Polites Feese
4906 Thu Jun 12 16:52:50 EDT 2014 Rose Ann Witt Thousand Oaks, CA As so aptly stated by Wenonah Hauter with the consumer advocate group Food and Water Watch, "Very little unbiased, independent scientific research has been done into the health and environmental implications More....
4905 Sun May 25 13:09:17 EDT 2014 Gary Choate Romeo, MI Enough is enough help put people over profits
4904 Tue May 06 03:25:10 EDT 2014 Amanda Croswell Salem, NH
4903 Mon Apr 07 18:36:00 EDT 2014 Anna Hess Lutsen, MN this is common sense. WE used to have it.
4902 Mon Apr 07 16:36:04 EDT 2014 terri Starr Bloomsburg, PA
4901 Wed Apr 02 22:03:21 EDT 2014 Corie Adamucci Syracuse, NY
4900 Sun Mar 30 08:46:24 EDT 2014 stephanie Champion Lenoir, NC
4899 Fri Mar 28 23:22:48 EDT 2014 Cindy Duke Sterling, VA
4898 Fri Mar 28 21:54:38 EDT 2014 Brenda Plazio Pitman, NJ We need to stop the production of all herbicide resistant seeds. Please STOP approving these products and help save our environment, our food supply and our HEALTH!
4897 Thu Feb 27 14:29:22 EST 2014 Diane Plogger North Olmsted, OH Remember the definition of insanity is doing the same thing over and over and expecting different results.
4896 Sat Jan 25 10:49:58 EST 2014 Denna Wheeler Muskogee, OK
4895 Sat Jan 18 12:34:21 EST 2014 Anonymous Growing smarter does not mean using more advanced science to produce larger yields.
Next ->